A Midsummer Night's Dream

Shipped from Armenia
No reviews

Sale price$10.99

Shipping calculated at checkout


William Shakespeare - A Midsummer Night's Dream

William Shakespeare - A Midsummer Night's Dream

This translation of Midsummer Night’s Dream which remained unprinted for long years was done in 1973-74 and is the last of Khachik Dashtents’ Shakespearean undertakings, and is being published for the first time. While being prepared for publication as a volume of Complete Shakespeare in Armenian, the text has been substantially edited, translational corrections have been made. It is the first time also that one of the noteworthy Shakespearean comedies is being published in Armenian with detailed references containing notable facts and commentary.

William Shakespeare (26 April 1564 (baptised) – 23 April 1616) was an English poet, playwright, and actor, widely regarded as the greatest writer in the English language and the world's pre-eminent dramatist. He is often called England's national poet and the "Bard of Avon". His extant works, including some collaborations, consist of about 38 plays, 154 sonnets, two long narrative poems, and a few other verses, of which the authorship of some is uncertain. His plays have been translated into every major living language and are performed more often than those of any other playwright.

Shakespeare was born and brought up in Stratford-upon-Avon. At the age of 18, he married Anne Hathaway, with whom he had three children: Susanna, and twins Hamlet and Judith. Between 1585 and 1592, he began a successful career in London as an actor, writer, and part-owner of a playing company called the Lord Chamberlain's Men, later known as the King's Men. He appears to have retired to Stratford around 1613 at age 49, where he died three years later. Few records of Shakespeare's private life survive, and there has been considerable speculation about such matters as his physical appearance, sexuality, religious beliefs, and whether the works attributed to him were written by others.

Shakespeare produced most of his known work between 1589 and 1613. His early plays were mainly comedies and histories and these works remain regarded as some of the best work produced in these genres. He then wrote mainly tragedies until about 1608, including Hamlet, Othello, King Lear, and Macbeth, considered some of the finest works in the English language. In his last phase, he wrote tragicomedies, also known as romances, and collaborated with other playwrights.

Many of his plays were published in editions of varying quality and accuracy during his lifetime. In 1623, John Heminges and Henry Condell, two friends and fellow actors of Shakespeare, published the First Folio, a collected edition of his dramatic works that included all but two of the plays now recognized as Shakespeare's. It was prefaced with a poem by Ben Jonson, in which Shakespeare is hailed, presciently, as "not of an age, but for all time". In the 20th and 21st century, his work has been repeatedly adopted and rediscovered by new movements in scholarship and performance. His plays remain highly popular today and are constantly studied, performed, and reinterpreted in diverse cultural and political contexts throughout the world.
Author(s) William Shakespeare
Translator(s) Khachik Dashtents
Language(s) Armenian
Publisher(s) Antares
Year 2015
Pages 124
Binding hardcover
Printing Black & White
Size 14 x 24.5 cm
ISBN 9789939517650

You may also like

Recently viewed